Soapbox Idol Rant at Porcupine Freedom Festival X 2013

This video is of my spoken word rant for Soapbox Idol. I used to write a lot of political poetry, but had to throw a lot of it out once I reassessed my political beliefs. The contest had me super nervous as I had to follow some amazing ranters that I have a lot of respect for. The ending was even more surprising as we had to improvise a one minute rant, and it really had me shaking because I had spent a considerable amount of time rehearsing my poem but am not very great at coming up with something on the spot. (The joke about the f-bombs at the beginning of the second rant was in reference to their frequent usage by the three men who preceded me.) It was an honor to be alongside such passionate folks. My focus has shifted slightly, and I want to start doing more spoken word so I can focus on how I am getting my message across. I’m in love with the way words can be arranged and expressed to clarify intentions and move people to action.

Being at Porcfest inspired me to focus more on activism and informing, but also to get back to my roots as a poet. Art has always played a significant role in my life, and I truly believe that using art in multiple forms to express controversial thoughts is pivotal in any movement aimed at changing hearts and minds. I also want to find a way to utilize hoop dance in a similar way to my writings. I picked a poem of mine that was originally about the unethical drone warfare taking place all around the world perpetrated by the U.S. government. Realizing that it could be broadened to include other topics, I added some verses and a non-rhyming couplet ending that hit on some of my other concerns as someone who has grown up in a post 9/11 world and views the future with concern tinged wonder. Writing has always been therapeutic for me, but I don’t want to only write; I want to resonate. A special thanks to Drew Phillips and Red Pill Recording for filming and editing this video.

4 Comments

June 30, 2013 · 8:29 pm

4 responses to “Soapbox Idol Rant at Porcupine Freedom Festival X 2013

  1. Meat Curtain of Doom

    SO badass. I ❤ you.

  2. Pingback: Liberty’s Lady of Stalingrad | Extremely in between...

Leave a Reply

