Freedom is a Funny Thing

Yesterday was a pretty slow day at the office. There were few clients, and the phones were silent. I had taken a break from being called a statist sheeperson by keyboard warriors, and was chilling with my ever insightful boss during the lunch break.

Image

They have no clue what they are messing with.

We talk about dreary subjects pretty often and if it weren’t for humor I’m sure we’d overdose on cynicism. Today was different and given the slowness of business, we decided to watch a movie on Netflix.

I don’t have Netflix, but I constantly hear its praises from just about everyone else I know. Apparently, I am missing out. So, he asks if I have seen the documentary Nitro Circus. For those of you unfamiliar with this movie, it’s like a combination between Jackass, Cirque de Soleil, and motocross (though that description doesn’t do it justice).

He starts the movie and the opening scene is one of the most badass scenes I have ever witnessed. Monster trucks, motorcycles, tricycles, and ATVs are flying through the air in perfectly choreographed chaos doing flips and other physics defying tricks in unison. I wish I could describe how freaking awesome it was, and upon looking it up I guess I am way behind the times. Not having a television for the past several years makes me feel out of the loop sometimes.

The movie was kind of cheesy and definitely had some Jackass moments, but what stood out (aside from the epicness of all the stunts they pulled off) was how carefree they all seemed. They were living their lives to the fullest and not giving any shits whatsoever.

Image

Like this little fella.

 

They weren’t living in regret of what they were missing out on or fear of what could happen if a stunt went wrong, even though the danger was very real. They weren’t worried that the government would take away their guns, or that there was a conspiracy to poison the water, or that lizard jews were plotting their demise. 

Image

The DMT helper elves can’t be trusted, either.

I worry about my gun rights sometimes and I filter my water because we have the worst water in the country where I live, but have been guilty of being overly paranoid and living fearfully in the past.

In recent years, I have been breaking away from that and enjoying freedom from the shackles of my own mind. I live cautiously for other reasons, but I refuse to give into this crippling fear of a government take over. It’s less stressful to just ignore the PeopleInGovernmentS.

As cheesy as Nitro Circus was, it reminded me to just breathe and continue trying to make the seventy or so years I have on this earth as awesome and meaningful as possible. There is more to life than just the present moment, but I have to kick myself whenever I find myself fretting too much about the future.

I’d rather laugh instead. I’d rather act free than worry about the freedoms I am losing. Every now and then I look around and realize that my life is pretty incredible. No wait, hold up.

LIFE IS FREAKING MIND-BLOWINGLY AWESOME. 3-D PRINTERS, SUNRISES, SUNSETS, RAINBOWS, CHARLES RAMSEY, AUTOTUNE, BOOKS, TEH INTERWEBZ, COFFEE, SYNCHRONICITY, FEELS, LOVE, FRIENDSHIPS, JAH, HULA HOOPING, THE COMPLEXITY OF THE UNIVERSE, FORGIVENESS, LAUGHTER, ETC, ETC, ETC.

Even suffering brings forth the most vibrant fruits.

Maybe we are on a downward spiral of tyranny, but I refuse to let that scare me from living life. My mind cannot be controlled, and neither can my spirit. It won’t be controlled by outside influences or the confines of my own doubts because regardless of which tyrant is trying to take away your liberties, freedom begins in the mind.

You can enslave yourself with your own psyche and fears, and if you have done that (insert the ever nefarious “they”) have already won. Knowledge increaseth sorrow, but succumbing to your own fears will cripple you. I have no problem being sappy from time to time, but ain’t nobody got time for fear. I’m too busy living this awe-inspiring existence to be bothered with that mess. So, cheer up and smell the roses (whether or not they are covered in pesticides or chemtrails).

Image

These roses smell like food coloring.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Humorous/Political

2 responses to “Freedom is a Funny Thing

  1. black

    We feel so good at times that we almost think that we might just live forever. Oh s***. The banking system is collapsing.

Leave a Reply

